The Battle With Max

Recently I’ve been tearing my hair out trying to understand my son. Max has been whiny, argumentative and difficult which is very unlike him. I guess we could attribute it to Luke’s arrival but who knows? I’ve been trying to spend more time with him, to be more patient with him but I have to admit, it isn’t easy.

Right now, nap and bedtimes are the worst. He used to go to bed by himself, after a kiss goodnight, he would settle down and got to sleep. Now he whines about not being tired, he tosses and turns, he disturbs Ally, basically he does everything but sleep. It can take up to an hour for him to fall asleep. He is clearly tired, you can see his eye bags and he’s yawning away but trust me, that boy can sure fight fatigue.

I keep telling myself its a phase that he’ll grow out of. He is at an awkward stage at the moment as well, he’s not going to school like Ally and yet he isn’t the baby anymore. There are days where I feel like a terrible mother, simply because I feel like all I’ve done is nag/scold him.

It’s not all bad, there are days where my sweet boy emerges once again and we have great fun together. Beneath the whining and tantrums, he really is a sensitive soul who loves his brother and sister.

He looks so grown up in this photo, I love that cheeky look on his face

1 Comment

Filed under Max

One response to “The Battle With Max

  1. Awww babe. I’m having my own war at home. :/

Leave a Reply

