Go Go Power Rangers?

I took the kids down to town for some window shopping last week. We haven’t ventured down to the madness we call Orchard road for quite a while so I thought it would be a nice treat for the kids.

I didn’t realise that they were having a Power Rangers stage show at the basement of Takashimaya. In fact I  though Power Rangers vanished into thin air along with the Teletubbies. Ally has no clue who the Power Rangers are but she wanted to watch the show anyway. Since we were there, I agreed. Max was excited about it, for all of 5 minutes, Ally was engrossed from beginning to end. They chose kids from the audience to come up on stage and play a game . Ally was dying to be chosen but she was overlooked. At the end of the show she was still feeling a bit disapointed so I told her that there was another show that same evening. She made me promise to bring her back and I agreed.

Seeing how badly she wanted to get chosen, we decided to have a strategy. They would only choose 2 girls and 3 boys out of the whole crowd so I said to Ally she needed to be noticed. When they asked for volunteers, Ally jumped up and down like a Mexican bean. Turns out it worked cos she was chosen! You should have seen the look of happiness on her face. She was one of the youngest but that didn’t seem to bother her.

Up on stage with the pink ranger

They had to play a simple game and at the end each child was given a prize. Ally won a pink ranger toy which Max immediately tried to claim as his own. At the end of the show, the kids were invited to take a picture with the Power Rangers.

Honestly the show wasn’t great, I wouldn’t make a trip down specially to see them. Now that the year end holidays are approaching, lots of stage shows are going to be held in various shopping malls. The kids have already chosen which shows they would like to watch. Never in my wildest dreams could I picture myself standing in a queue of parents and kids for an hour just to watch a guy in a huge purple suit sing and dance for 20 minutes. It’s funny what kids do to you.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Ally

Leave a Reply

