Mummy Guilt

The kids had to go and see the dentist for their yearly checkup. Ally has gone from the time she was 10 months old and has never had a problem. We brush their teeth twice a day religiously but each time they are due for a checkup, I get nervous. If their teeth are dirty, it means Mama hasn’t been doing her job properly.

The children go to a pediatric dentist which of course cost a lot more than a regular one. We don’t mind paying extra for the kids to enjoy the experience. I see it as a long term investment for my sanity. Ally thinks going to the dentist is a huge treat and that is exactly how I want her to feel about the whole experience. The practice has bright murals on the walls and lots of toys in the waiting room.

Having fun while waiting for their turn

Ally and Max who was straining to see over the table

Ally was an absolute super star, she was cooperative and sat quietly throughout the whole checkup. I think having a dvd to watch helped as well.

They give the kids sunglasses to ease the glare from the light

She had to bring her penguin friend along for moral support of course, you can see her clutching him in the picture above. She had her teeth checked and cleaned, everything looked great and once again he reconfirmed she will definitely need braces in future.

Having her teeth cleaned

Max was all eager for his turn, he kept saying ” my turn!” while Ally was having her checkup. When it came to his actual turn, he wasn’t too impressed. He sat on my lap and was happy for all of 3 minutes. Once the dentist started cleaning his teeth, Max started to cry. It was more a whinge than a cry, he wasn’t scared, he just didn’t like the fact that I was holding his arms down. It was all over really quickly and that’s when I was told Max’s teeth needed more care and attention. The conversation went something like this.

“Mummy, Max likes sweet things right?”

” Erm, yes….”

” Try to cut down on his biscuits and sweets, there are some cavity lesions on his teeth already”

This is the part that I started to feel embarassed, my “bad” mother moment. To my credit, I had one child out of two that had clean teeth, that’s 50%!

A much happier Max after his check up

Some of you may think that I’m very kiasu to bring the kids to the dentist from such a young age. Truth be told, it’s much easier to get them used to being in the dentist chair when there are no issues and all they need is a quick check up. I used to think that baby teeth didn’t really matter since they are going to fall out anyway but I was so wrong. Baby teeth are important for a young child’s speech, not only that, they will serve as a guide for the adult teeth to grow into so if the teeth decay and fall out too early, the adult teeth will grow incorrectly as well. Not to mention the trauma of putting your child under GA to extract the decayed teeth.

2 Comments

Filed under Ally, Max

2 responses to “Mummy Guilt

  1. Jus

    I agree, they are never too young to start caring for their teeth… many dentists tell me we should bring them in early so that they get used to visiting the “scary man with the drill”, but we’ve kept putting off the appointment! :p

    Perhaps its a boy thing, seems rather tough to get the squirmy little boys to brush teeth, at least in our case!

  2. Don

    Hi, that’s a nice play dental place. May I ask where is this dental place? I want to bring my boy to dental now since he’s coming to 3 and think he should start now. But the 2 dental place near my home looked so gloomy and very official, even I got a bit scared just looking at it, ha ha.

Leave a Reply

