A trip to Orchard Road- as told by Max

What do you do when your parents decide to drag you down to Orchard Road and battle the crowds just to look at the Christmas lights? You pretend to be excited and enthusiastic only because you know they want you to be.

 

You point and pretend you know what your mom is talking about

 

Which makes them very happy cos they think you’re as excited as they are. Ally was thrilled to be there, but I guess she understands this whole ” Christmas” business better than I do. Not only that, she could walk about freely, I wanted to walk to, but I kept being knocked over by people or their bags. The crowds didn’t seem to have much patience for a boy who just wanted to stop and observe every crack in the street, I don’t blame them, I don’t have patience for people who are rushing about like headless chickens as well.

After mama pointed out the lights about 3 times, I started to get bored. The lights all looked the same to me!

Finally we walked into the shopping centre for some cool air, but you couldn’t escape the lights, they were EVERYWHERE.

 

I can't take it anymore! Too many people! Too many lights!

 

Then the adults decided that they wanted to walk around and look at the shops. By this time I’ve just about had it. It was way past my bedtime, my legs were tired and I had a headache from all the noise.

 

So I sat down in the middle of the shopping centre for a rest, my mom didn't think it was such a good idea, I beg to differ.

By the time we got back to the car, I started to cry, I was just SO tired. Mama told me to just close my eyes and sleep. Easy for her to say, my head was still spinning from all the noise and people. Eventually I must have fallen asleep cos the next thing I knew, I was in my crib. The next time Mama mentions a trip to Orchard Road, I might just pretend to be sick.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Max

Leave a Reply

