Of Birds and Colds

Max and I have been down with yet another cold. Thankfully I had it first so Max has a much milder form. In between tissues and honey lemon drinks, I had to figure out a way to make a bird costume for Ally’s music class. When I first heard about the costume,  my first thought was  ” What? How am I going to do that?” And then just to make it more interesting, Ally proclaims she wants to be a Medowlark. If you’re going huh? You’re not the only one.

So I turn to my trusty friend Google for help. Turns out a Medowlark is a small yellowish bird, not the most attractive looking I have to say. I decided to ignore the Medowlark request and just find a way to make a simple bird costume.

Thanks to Coolest Homemade Costumes, I found the ideal costume. I decided to do a bit of adjustments, I knew Ally would never tolerate the fluffy stuff around her neck, so I left that out. I went to Daiso and found everything I needed, including a really cool mask, total cost, $8, love it!

After lots of cutting and pasting, its finally done! Took me about an hour and a half to put together while the kids were in bed. Take a look!

Don't ask me what sort of bird she is, I have no idea.....

She loved it ( thank goodness) and though it looks nothing like a Medowlark, I’m still really please with myself. What do you think?

5 Comments

Filed under Ally, Max

5 responses to “Of Birds and Colds

  1. lamagier

    That’s really creative! The mask is really cool. Oh my, Ally’s knowledge od birds is impressive. I have no idea what a medowlark is=p

  2. Ethan n Amanda

    Yes. it’s impressive!

  3. LOL, I think she picked up that word in class, I’m pretty sure she herself doesn’t know waht a Medowlark is.

  4. Lavina Chong

    hi, I’m Lavina, Luca’s mum at Max’s kindermusik class. The costume looks fantastic!! Well done!

Leave a Reply

