Patience Is A Virtue

Having two toddlers is a crazy, fun, noisy experience that brings along unexpected surprises. It’s also been the most challenging, demanding and tiring phase that I’ve experienced.

The other day I was speaking to a friend who casually mentioned that her son who’s 6, had asked his dad to come along and watch his after school sport. His dad’s reply, ” I can’t today, I’m busy.”  Before judging the actions of this parent, I thought to myself, how many times have I said the same thing to the children. ” I can’t do this now, Mama is busy”. Sometimes I’m in the midst of preparing their meals, other times I really just need those few moments to myself.

I’m not saying that we need to drop everything and attend to the kids all the time. I personally believe that it is very important for them to learn to entertain themselves when I can’t. But after a bad night’s sleep, it is so easy to brush the children away just because I’m physically or mentally exhausted.

I struggle daily with my lack of patience, I can feel myself losing it, especially with poor Ally since she’s can vocalise her thoughts and feelings. I’ve had a terrible morning with the children, both were whiny and grumpy and I was struggling to get lunch ready on time. Now that they are both down for their naps, my mind is a lot calmer and the guilt is beginning to seep in.

I marvel at the moms who seem to have endless patience, the moms who don’t yell at their kids. I’m praying that after we’ve all had a nap, the rest of the day will get better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Musings

Leave a Reply

