Sunny Days, Sweeping the Clouds Away……

It’s been a long time since Ally and I had a mother daughter day out. I decided to take her to the Sesame Street Live show as a special treat. Right up to the actual day, I was still in two minds if we should take Max along but decided that he won’t be able to sit through the whole show. While we were at the show, Max spent the day with grandma.

Keeping with the theme for the day

Thanks to Aunty Flo, we managed to get VIP meet and greet tickets, she even managed to snag us front row seats!

Her beloved penguins came along for the show

Her eyes were enormous when she saw Elmo walk in

She was thrilled to be able to show Elmo her shoes

I guess Ally really didn’t know what to expect, I did try to explain to her what it would be all about. She was very excited but grew quite shy when it was her turn to meet the cast.

The opening number

The minute the show started, she was completely absorbed in the performance. I was just as excited as her, especially when they opened the show with our favourite song! It was a classic Sesame Street song, I remember watching it when I was Ally’s age. Talk about generation gap, I remember the version with Grover and Madeline Khan, Ally remembers the latest version with Ernie and Elmo. We sang along to the “Echo Song” with gusto. She was giggling, laughing and having the time of her life.

The finale

The best part about having front row seats was that at certain points during the performance, the muppets would walk down the stage to meet the kids sitting right in front. Ally would jump right off her seat to hug them and run right back with a big smile. I love seeing how excited she was.

A very happy girl on the train ride home

I was happy that we decided to leave Max with grandma, Ally and I had a fantastic afternoon together. She had my undivided attention and though she missed her brother, I think she was happy to have Mama all to herself. As for me, I was happy to do big girl things with her without worrying if Max was wandering off, if he needed a feed or wanted to nap. Sesame Street is still magical for me, even after all these years. I’m glad that Ally loves them as much as I do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ally

Leave a Reply

