Survior- Mommy Edition

A lot of people have asked me how do I cope with two young children on a daily basis. Besides having a great support system from my parents and a husband who is a fantastic help, a good sense of humor is also essential. When everything is going wrong, the best remedy is to just laugh.

Having a routine for the kids helps a lot. They know what to expect and when so thankfully nap times and bed times don’t become battles.

When I’m having one of those days when nothing is going right, the kids are acting up and we’re all still in our pyjamas at 10am, I pull out my secret tool. I put on some music and start dancing with the kids. Sometimes we take out their musical instruments and just play along with the music. It’s a great way for them to burn some energy and it never fails to lift my spirits. We sing along with their Kindermusik CDs and magically, everyone’s bad mood evaporates. It has been said that “music soothes the savage beast” I don’t know about savage beasts but it sure does soothe my two monkeys.

I have to give credit to the kids as well, most of the time they are really well behaved. I can count on Ally to entertain Max and look after him. She’s independent and great at entertaining herself with imaginary games or songs. Max’s laid back easy going nature makes it easy for me to get things done around the house.

Both the kids have enriched our lives in so many ways, they have made me less cynical and shown me the beauty in simplicity and innocence. Have a great weekend!

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Musings

Leave a Reply

