Sleep Training-Cont

I’m lying in bed listening to Max fussing and crying in his crib. It’s been 15 minutes and I’ve gone in to check on him twice. I really wish he’ll just settle and go back to sleep, he cries on and off every few seconds and I desperately want to take the easy way out and just pick him up and nurse him back to sleep. But I know if I do, all my efforts would have gone down the drain. His sleep has been so much better, I just need to ride out these rare times when he still wakes up. I know he’s not hungry, neither is he wet, nor is he ill. His cries have fully awaken me and I know it’ll be a good hour after he has fallen asleep before I can do the same. Many people might not agree with my cry it out approach but to each his own, learning to self soothe is important especially if it means we all get a better night’s sleep in the long run.

1 Comment

Filed under Max

One response to “Sleep Training-Cont

  1. Don

    Hi, I also did the ‘cry it out’ approach with my boy. After 3 nights, he’s ok already.
    I will let him cry about 10 – 15mins each time before I go in to comfort him. Do not let him cry for more than 20 mins. This is because if he cries too hard and too long, his balls might ‘go up’ and cause hernia.
    And yes, it’s definitely easier now. Even when he wakes up, he does not cry out for us. He will put himself to sleep.
    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

